Thursday, February 18, 2010

2009 ATP World Tour Awards - Roger Federer wins again Federer was formally recognized for his triumphant return to the top spot in men’s tennis on Wednesday, as the 2009 ATP World Tour Awards were announced.

The 28-year-old superstar collected Player of the Year, the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award and Fans' Favorite Player of the Year presented by RICOH honors. Federer was named Player of the Year for the fifth time after finishing as ATP World Tour Champion and his fellow players voted him with the sportsmanship award for a record sixth consecutive year, surpassing Edberg, who was a five-time recipient over eight years. In a poll of fans, Federer was voted Fans' Favorite for the seventh straight season.

ATP World Tour Doubles Champions Bob and Mike Bryan were announced as the Doubles Team of the Year for the fifth time in seven years.

Former ATP World Tour pro MaliVai Washington, a winner of four career ATP World Tour titles and a finalist at Wimbledon, won the prestigious Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year award for his charitable efforts.

No comments :

Post a Comment